My Mushroom & Meat Sauce

As I mentioned on my Facebook page, this past week has been a gloomy, rainy and grey mess!  I need comfort food and I need it now!

Tonight’s meal plan was for homemade mushroom and meat sauce over whole wheat spaghetti.  Are you a bottle sauce person or do you make it yourself?  There are numerous choices at the grocery store for bottled or canned spaghetti sauce.  Once I became allergic to carrots I ended up switching to homemade sauce because a lot of spaghetti sauces out there contain carrot fiber…(ie: Hunt’s brand sauce).  Plus it is cost-effective and healthier to make your own.

I use a recipe that I base off of my mother’s spaghetti sauce recipe.

My Mushroom & Meat Sauce Recipe

Ingredients:
1 tbsp. Extra Virgin Olive Oil
4 cloves of garlic, smashed
Ground Pepper, just a dash
1/4 cup beef broth
8 oz. Cremini mushrooms, sliced and diced
1 1/2 lbs. lean ground beef
28 oz. can of diced tomatoes
6 oz. can of tomato paste
16 oz. can of tomato sauce
1 tsp. basil
1 tsp. oregano
1 tbsp. sugar or sugar substitute

Directions:
– In a stockpot place the olive oil, garlic cloves, and pepper and turn the burner to a low/medium setting.
– Cook the garlic until you can smell a wonderful garlic aroma, no more than 2 minutes.  (If you’ve never burnt garlic before this is not the time to find out what it smells like)
– Add beef broth and mushrooms to the stockpot.
– Cook together for 2 more minutes to cook the mushrooms down a bit.
– Now add the ground beef to the stockpot and break down the beef into chunks and cook until browned. (I break my ground beef down into the smallest pieces I can, but that’s my preference)
– Drain liquid and grease from the beef and mushroom mixture.
– Turn the burner to low and add the diced tomatoes, tomato paste, tomato sauce, basil, oregano and sugar.  Mix well.
– Cover and cook on low for as long as you want (be reasonable, that doesn’t mean all day).  I let mine heat and mix up for an hour.  Stir every 15 minutes.
– Serve over hot noodles of your choice.

Did she say SUGAR?  Yes, I did.  Sugar takes the tartness out of the tomato sauce.  You do not need to add this but it helps take the bite out of the sauce.  Adjust to the level you enjoy.

Mushroom and Meat Sauce

Mushroom and Meat Sauce

– Jennifer

Tagged: , , , ,

