Book Review – The Happiness Project

First and foremost, I hope that everyone had a wonderful and safe Christmas.  I had a wonderful Christmas surrounded by family, love and great food, none of which will be posted here because oddly enough I didn’t cook a single thing!  My mom and sister handled that. 

Once in a while I will blog about something other than food.  Today I am blogging about a book I just finished reading.

Photo Courtesy of The Happiness Project

I don’t know about you but as the year ends I tend to reflect on what the past year was like.  What I did well, what I slacked on, what wonderful things happened, and what lessons I learned.  The beginning of a new year is filled with such hope and feeling of new beginnings that reading this book at the end of the year was perfect! 

The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin is a realistic attempt to test different happiness hypotheses.  They were manageable and realistic.  I won’t get into the nitty gritty here, because I want you to actually read the book, but it also makes you realize that you too can do the happiness project.

Rubin even provides a resolutions tracking chart, and a guide to beginning your own happiness project so that you too can participate.  For Christmas, Garrett gave me the accompanying One Sentence Journal by Rubin.  It is a 5 year journal where you write one sentence that sums up your day.  It is not to be confused with the gratefulness journal that Oprah talks about, once you read the book you’ll see why it isn’t a gratefulness journal.  I am excited to see what the next 5 years hold and look forward to January 2018, when I can sit down and reread the past 5 years.  What will happen?  What will change?

I bounce back and forth between setting goals and resolutions for the new year.  I have a few ideas and will be posting them on New Years Day.  What about you?  Do you set resolutions?  Do you usually keep them?  What is the wildest one you have ever set?

Until we meet again, I HIGHLY recommend The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin for anyone…no literally ANYONE.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

