Guest Post – Maria from Chronicles of Chaos

Today I have the pleasure of introducing y’all to my friend Maria.  She goes by “Mia” but I met her as Maria and now my brain won’t switch over to calling her something else.  We met when we worked together in HR.  She is a great cook and an awesome friend.  Though I must warn you, I have already read this post and she mentions the C-word.  That’s right…CARROTS!  This makes me weary of any food she wants to give me.  Though I did make her a lemon cookie once that put her into labor with her first son. 
 
Welcome Maria…..

Well, hello there lovely 86 Carrots readers!  I’m Mia from The Chronicles of Chaos, where I blog about all the crazy ramblings that come to my brain.  I’m so happy to be here today because I have something awesome to share with you!

Now that the weather is quickly turning colder, it’s the perfect time for my favorite Texican Chili crock pot recipe that I adapted from Taste of Home.

Ingredients:

•8 bacon strips, diced [I omit this ingredient]

•2-1/2 pounds beef stew meat, cut into 1/2-inch cubes

•2 cans (one 28 ounces, one 14-1/2 ounces) stewed tomatoes, undrained

•2 cans (8 ounces each) tomato sauce

•1 can (16 ounces) kidney beans, rinsed and drained [We didn’t have any, so I substituted black beans. You can’t even tell the difference!]

•2 cups sliced carrots [Optional – I know what you’re thinking… this is 86 Carrots blog, Mia, why are there carrots in this recipe?! Well, that’s why it’s optional. I don’t think the chili loses anything if you omit the carrots. So HA! :)]

•1 tablespoon chili powder

•1 teaspoon salt, optional

•1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

•1/4 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

1) In a large skillet, cook bacon until crisp [if you choose to use bacon]. Remove to paper towels to drain. Brown beef in the drippings [or just use a bit of oil, like we do]; drain.

2) Transfer to a 5-qt. slow cooker; add bacon and remaining ingredients. Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours or until meat is tender, stirring occasionally. Yield: 16-18 servings. [Or, cook it on high for 5 hours, if you’re impatient like me and want to EAT! 🙂 And if you like it a tad bit spicy, add a 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne pepper. Boo-ya!]

 

Without the beef. I added it last. Cuz I’m a rebel!
BEEF! It’s what’s for dinner.

Easy peezy, right? And it tastes amazing. Throw together some corn bread muffins and you have the perfect cold weather meal! Plus, there will be TONS of leftovers, promise.  And thanks Jennifer for having me today! Hope you guys stop by and say hi sometime, I’d love to hear from you! Enjoy!
//

Tagged: , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Guest Post – Maria from Chronicles of Chaos

  1. Mia December 13, 2012 at 8:36 AM

    Yayyyy! Beeefff! Yayyyy!

  2. IHeartVegetables December 13, 2012 at 3:30 PM

    Great guest post! Nice to “meet” you, Maria! 🙂

    • Mia December 14, 2012 at 8:45 AM

      Yay, thanks so much! 🙂

Comments are closed.

