Paid It Forward

So today was the day that I planned to Pay It Forward.  I do this from time to time because it is just so much fun and you put some good karma out there, which is never bad.  I’ve always had great experiences doing this and plan to do this as long as I can.

Today I was stuck in traffic for a lot longer than normal.  The McD’s that I usually go to was completely blocked by traffic so I took another route and went to the McD’s closest to work.  At first no one got in the drive-thru lane after me and then one appeared.  They were my Pay It Forward people for the day.  Regardless of their total I would be paying for their breakfast. 

I have to admit that when I first saw the car pull up behind me my first thought was “Oh uh-uh not them.”  Why?  Because it was a huge white Mercedes SUV.  My train of thought was, they obviously have money.  They don’t need the Pay It Forward, they obviously have enough money.

And then I had the following thought process….”How do I know how much money they have?  Just because they have a Mercedes doesn’t mean anything.  What if that was the only thing she got in the divorce?  What if she has no home and actually lives in it?  Her children might be ill and need medical bills paid.  Who am I to say just because someone “has money” they don’t need or even deserve a Pay It Forward.  EVERYONE deserves a Pay It Forward.  What if this is actually a snooty rich person who is mean to people and stingy with their money?  Then wouldn’t they, of all people, deserve a random act of kindness.  Maybe this will turn their heart if they are a jerk.”

So I did it, I paid for their meal and drove off.  I am disappointed that I had the knee jerk reaction to not want to pay for it.  I think maybe this Pay It Forward actually benefited me more than the other person.  Don’t judge by the outside and remember you never know someone’s situation.

Did anyone else Pay It Forward?  If so, comment here and tell us how it went.

-Jennifer

Tagged: , , ,

4 thoughts on “Paid It Forward

  1. Alice December 8, 2012 at 5:35 AM

    You are such a sweet girl. I am so proud of you. I forgot to do it so I’ll make it up today if I go out.

  2. Mia December 8, 2012 at 7:37 PM

    I paid for the Starbucks order of the people behind me this morning. My mom and the boys were with me. My mom was like “what are you doing?” Like gee, mother, trying to do something nice, you should try it sometime! ugh. Sorry, I digress. It got off to a rough start at first because apparently the guy at the drive thru couldn’t figure out what I meant when I said I wanted to pay for the ppl behind me, lol. But once we got that straightened out, it was fine. It made me happy to know that I perhaps brought a little joy to someone!! 🙂 Good idea, buggy. Now, what’s next? 😉

  3. IHeartVegetables December 9, 2012 at 10:57 AM

    That’s so interesting! I totally understand that feeling, of making a snap judgement and then realizing you don’t actually KNOW the person. And I think youre right, even if they didn’t “need” it, it could inspire them to pay it forward to the next person!

    • 86carrots December 9, 2012 at 4:22 PM

      Thanks IHeartVegetables! I was so quick to make an assumption but then realize I had absolutely no right, or knowledge to do so. I am going to try and keep that in check and pay attention to when I make snap judgments in other areas as well.

      Welcome to my blog! 🙂

Comments are closed.

