Well Smack Me Silly!

Well smack me silly; that’s some good stroganoff!

This past weekend I went to my local library and checked out the American Heart Association’s new cookbook.  I copied a few recipes and have thus far tried two.  The first was Chicken Scallop al Limone but that was just ok, so I didn’t want to waste your time with it.  But tonight, ooooooo-eeeeee, Ground Beef Stroganoff.  It is fantastic and uses ground beef which I prefer highly over hunks o’beef.

All done!

All done!

It is quick, easy and oh so delicious!  Great for a quick meal on a work night.

Ground Beef Stroganoff (Courtesy of The New American Heart Association Cookbook)

Serves:  4

Ingredients:
5 oz Dried No-Yolk Noodles (no seriously, they mean only 5 oz)
Cooking Spray (I nixed this)
1 lb. Extra Lean Ground Beef
1/2 cup Chopped Onion (I had to puree’ this for Garrett)
2 medium Garlic Cloves, minced
4 to 6 oz of Button Mushrooms, sliced (I used 8 oz. of regular mushrooms sliced)
1/2 cup Fat-Free, No-Salt added Beef Broth
1 cup Evaporated Milk
2 teaspoons All-Purpose Flour
2 tablespoons Light Chive and Onion Cream Cheese
2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce, lowest sodium available
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:
1 – Prepare egg noodles using the package directions, omitting salt.  Drain well in a colander.  Set aside.

2 – Meanwhile, lightly spray a Dutch Oven or large skillet with cooking spray.  Cook the beef over medium-high heat for 4 to 5 minutes, or until no longer pink, stirring frequently to turn and break up the beef.  Drain if necessary.

3 – Stir in the onion and garlic.  Cook for 4 to 5 minutes, or until the onion is soft, stirring occassionally.

4 – Stir in the mushrooms and broth.  Reduce the heat and simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occassionally.

5 – In a small bowl, whisk together the evaporated milk and flour until smooth.  Stir into the beef mixture.  Increase the heat to medium.  Bring to a simmer.  Reduce the heat and simmer for 2 minutes, or until slightly thickened, stirring constantly.

6 – Stir in the cream cheese, Worcestershire sauce, and salt until well blended. 

7 – Serve over the noodles.

Oooooooh yeah!  NOM NOM NOM.  If you make it, let me know what you think!

-Jennifer

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Well Smack Me Silly!

  1. Mia December 6, 2012 at 9:32 AM

    OK, I’ll smack you silly! haha. 🙂 Yum, this looks great! PS, I want to sponsor you. I’ll send you an email. xo!

    • 86carrots December 6, 2012 at 3:45 PM

      Got your email and I replied. 🙂 This was surprisingly good. For some reason I was just expecting it to be “ok” but I was stupefied (above and beyond the baseline). 😉

Comments are closed.

