Cajun CatAss and Collard Greens

If only I were kidding. 

The other night Garrett and I were watching Big Bang Theory and they mentioned “turbriskefil”.  It is in the same vein as turducken but turkey, brisket and gefilte fish.  Which led Garrett down the path of “what can I make that sounds funny?”  His conclusion:  CatAss.

So what is CatAss you ask?  Why it is catfish stuffed striped bass of course.

Below are his directions.

-Preheat the oven at 400 degrees.
-Cover a cookie sheet in aluminum foil, and spray to grease it.
-Sprinkle 1/4 teaspoon of seasoned salt, 1/4 teaspoon of cajun, 1/4 teaspoon of onion powder and 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes onto the foil.  Sprinkle evenly.
-Lay the striped bass filets on the seasoned foil (skin side down).
-Repeat the seasonings above on top of the striped bass.
-Cut 2 filets of catfish (skin removed) into small inch width strips.
-Lay the catfish strips on top of the striped bass.
-Sprinkle 1/4 teaspoon of cajun seasoning on top of each stack.
-Now, fold it over, end to end.  Garrett said to roll one end to the other and skewer it to stay together…see picture below for what it should look like skewered.  He also said to mention that striped bass skin is TOUGH so feel free to pre-perforate your fish with a knife instead of relying on the skewer alone.

-Next, put it in the oven and bake it for 35 minutes.

BAM…now you have cajun catass.  Serve with cocktail or tartar sauce.  I’m a cocktail girl, and Garrett is all about the tartar sauce. 

I’ve gotta be honest…..I love me some catass.  😉   I also made collard greens but want to alter that recipe a little before I post it.

Bon Appetit’

-Jennifer & Garrett

Tagged: , ,

2 thoughts on “Cajun CatAss and Collard Greens

  1. Kirsten @One Tough Mother December 13, 2012 at 8:44 AM

    OH my gosh girl, I’m dying here! LMAO! I’m not much of a fish eater, so I don’t know that I’ll be trying some CatAss, but thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. 86carrots December 13, 2012 at 8:46 AM

    It looks disgusting but actually tasted good. 😉 If you don’t like fish, yeah, don’t try it. LOL

Comments are closed.

