Meal Planning

One of my favorites weekend activities is planning our meals for the week.  Weekly meal planning saves us both time and money.  With a plan we are able to limit impulse buys at the grocery store, and do our best to avoid last minute meal stops at fast food restaurants. 

So how do I do it?  It is SUPER easy and I encourage y’all to give it a shot.

Step 1:  Print my weekly meal planner
Step 2:  NextI think about my week and if there is anything planned or anything going on that would not leave enough time to cook that day.  If there is anything, I add the that to the meal plan.  For example:  Wednesday, Dinner with the Smith’s or Wednesday, Dinner – Eat Out (class)
Step 3:  Then I go through all of my cabinets and fridge/freezer to see what I already have.
Step 4:  Once I find out what I have I try to find recipes that require the ingredients I already have.  I find most of my recipes on Pinterest and the Food Network
Step 5:  I cook enough so that what we have for dinner one night has enough leftovers for our lunch the next day.
Step 6:  I also try to make sure if a recipe calls for an ingredient that I don’t normally keep on hand that I can use it in another recipe.   Let’s be thrifty here folks!
Step 7:  As I go through each recipe I write down the ingredients that I do not have so I can pick them up at the grocery store.
Step 8:  Time for my 2nd favorite thing….GROCERY SHOPPING

You will notice that my printable meal plan does not account for breakfast.  I don’t really “cook” breakfast so I don’t really count it in the planning.  Don’t worry, I eat breakfast.  Usually just cereal.

Make it fun, and try your best to stick to your shopping list. 

If you give this a shot, let me know how it works out.

– Jennifer

Tagged:

2 thoughts on “Meal Planning

  1. Maggie Munn November 24, 2012 at 8:08 PM

    Looking forward to your new adventure! I love cooking, food, and going to the grocery store as much as you! (i think)!

    • 86carrots November 24, 2012 at 8:11 PM

      Thanks Maggie! I don’t know why people consider grocery shopping a chore. Feel free to send me any recipes you would like me to try.

Comments are closed.

