How Sweet It Is – Toasted Coconut Tilapia

My friend, Christine, was asking me what I was making for dinner Thursday night and I mentioned that I had planned for blackened tilapia.  She then sent me a quick recipe she had found earlier that day for Toasted Coconut Tilapia with Pomegranate Salsa.  After reviewing the recipe, I realized that I had almost all of the ingredients.  I stopped by the store and picked up the missing ingredients and went right home to start making this recipe. 

To say it was easy to make would be an understatement.  It really took only a few minutes to get everything set up and ready to go.  And cooking, no time at all.  This was my first experience cooking with Coconut Oil and I loved it.  Not slimy, not smelly and way healthier.

You will note that I altered the recipe in that I used diced mango instead of pomegranate arils.  I honestly didn’t feel like dealing with a pomegranate..lol

This is a wonderfully tasty recipe that I encourage everyone to try.  

Toasted Coconut Tilapia with Pomegranate Mango Salsa

via:  How Sweet It Is

Yield: serves 2-4

Total Time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

4 tilapia filets
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 lemon, cut in half
3 tablespoons coconut oil
1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

salsa
1 tomato, chopped
1/2 red onion, finely diced
1/2 cup pomegranate arils  (we used diced mango)
1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
the juice of 1/2 lime
the juice of 1/2 orange
1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions:

To toast coconut, add to a saucepan over low-medium heat and stir, cooking for about 4-5 minutes. As soon as mine starts to turn golden, I use a wooden spoon and toss continuously until it’s evenly toasted. Set aside.

Season tilapia on both sides with salt, pepper and lemon juice. Heat a large nonstick skillet over medium to medium-high heat and add coconut oil. Once the oil is completely melted, add tilapia and cook until the edges are opaque, about 3-4 minutes. Using a spatula, gently flip the fish. Immediately cover in half of the toasted coconut mixture, and as the fish cooks the coconut will somewhat “adhere” to it. Once the tilapia is easily flaked with a fork, remove it from the skillet and top with the remaining toasted coconut if desired. Serve with pomegranate mango salsa on top!

salsa
Combine all ingredients together and mix! Can be stored in the fridge for 2-3 days

Thanks again How Sweet It Is for the recipe!

-Jennifer

Tagged: , , , , ,